Author Spotlight-L. M. Nelson

Guardian_webcoverLet’s give a warm welcome to author L. M. Nelson, the focus of today’s author spotlight.

L.M. Nelson is certified teacher and CPR/First Aid instructor. She enjoys poetry, music, photography, gardening, and nature walks. Aside from The Guardian and her Scrubs series, she has written several poems, some of which have been selected for literary magazines and published in various poetry collections. She co-wrote the article, ‘Gifted and Talented Education at the Close of the Decade of the Brain’, which was published in Perspectives, an Idaho Association of School Administrators educational journal. She wrote a guest post for Squirl’s On the Spot blog and an article called “Renegade Marketing” that was featured on Book Daily.

L.M. Nelson grew up in California and the Pacific Northwest, but currently resides in South Central Texas with her husband and two children. She is a member of the Texas Association of Authors, the Texas Authors Institute, and the San Antonio chapter of Romance Writers of America.

book links:

Guardian_5x8_BW_160jpgThe Guardian

The power of the elements in the hands of a boy.

Devastated by the tragic death of their parents, Camryn and Toby Hunter find themselves alone in the Idaho wilderness. Seeking solace in each other’s company, the siblings have no way of knowing what the future has in store for them.

 When Toby discovers a pair of gold rings, he and Camryn are magically transported into a mystical land they’ve never seen before. Their only known exit is immediately sealed off, and they find themselves surrounded by mythical creatures, a beautiful waterfall oasis, and moss-covered Redwood trees with faces. Named as “the Guardian” by the locals, Toby is faced with a life-changing task. He and his sister can only return home when the elements are reunited and peace is restored to the land of Gelnoff. With only two gold rings, ten days’ worth of supplies, and the guidance of a wise, old Redwood tree, Toby and Camryn begin the journey of a lifetime.



Author Spotlight-Tiki Kos

Author PicLet’s say a great ‘hello’ to Tiki Kos, the focus of this week’s spotlight. Be sure to check out her work.

YA Author of Daughter of The Night (Halloween 2017)  House Stark, Rebel, Sailor Scout, Hufflepuff, Cthulhu obsessed, Board game addict.
Born and raised in Alberta, Canada. She started working on her YA novel Daughter of The Night in 2016. The first book in the trilogy. Tiki has been married to her husband Joel since 2015. She is a mother of two wonderful children.  When she isn’t working on her novels, you can find her drinking coffee and eating sushi. She enjoys baking/canning, reading fantasy books, gardening and playing video games.


Twitter: @zombiiki




Daughter of the Night eBook 6x9Daughter of The Night

Young Adult Urban Fantasy

For fans of Mortal Instruments and Buffy! Let yourself get sucked into the whirlwind of adventure, Norse Mythology, magic, elves, fae, and demons.

“The magic practically jumps off the pages” ★★★★★

“There’s this kick-ass woman who is prophesied to protect the humans from   demons” ★★★★

“Serena is a strong female lead”★★★

***Updated Janurary 1st 2018***

Daughter of Nótt, your sacrifice will bring the end. When Serena returns home from a day of work, she witnesses a terrifying event which uproots her quiet existence. Attacked by a vicious creature, she is saved by a mysterious figure and introduced to the Einherja, warriors trained to protect Earth from demons. Serena soon finds out she is the descendant of an Aesir(Norse) god, and her recurring dreams might just be the answer to Avonmore’s ritualistic murders. Will she be able to protect her hometown, or will she be forced to sacrifice her new love? Daughter of Nótt, your sacrifice will not be in vain. A tale of passion, loss and self-awakening, Daughter Of The Night is the debut release of Tiki Kos, and the first in the Daughter Of The Night trilogy.

amazon link:




Getting Settled Update

2017052295133200_2 (2)The last couple of months have been a bit nuts with my youngest graduating and us moving to another state, one we’d never even visited, but I think most of the craziness is finished, and we’re settling down. I’m hoping this will mean I can get back to writing and getting some kind of regular schedule for the blog.

One of the things I would like to do is work on a new story a bit at a time. This is a YA story with a plot similar to The Little Mermaid, or at least the general idea. You guys will get it in its raw, unvarnished form and are free to comment and make suggestions. I’m also thinking about tossing out a choose your own adventure kind of story. Would anyone be interested in that? Please comment if so.

Any other suggestions of what you would like to see here would be appreciated.

As always, best wishes!

Lissa Dobbs